February “State of the Blog” Address!

Welcome to the Word Crucible‘s first monthly State of the Blog Address! I’m going to talk to you about what’s happened over the last month and what’s going to happen in February. So, without further ado:

How did January go?

The blog has grown since I started it on the 9th! Since then we’ve had 112 views, 70 visitors, 60 likes and 20 followers. But, as you can see, there is definitely room for improvement. I’d love you forever if you shared my posts with your friends, especially if you like what I’m doing, but if you enjoy any of my content just a like and a comment is always appreciated 😀

The layout of the blog itself has gone through many changes, including a URL and name change. I think I’m settled on this white and red theme, though. The lovecraft theme also leaves a lot of room for personal customisation, even for a free blogger with (basically) no coding experience. That said, if you have any feedback on the current layout/design of the blog, please let me know!

The most growth came after I decided to set up a posting schedule, so I’ll be sticking with that as we move on into February. Speaking of…

What can I expect to see in February?

I have big plans for the blog going through February. Currently our weekly post schedule is every Tuesday, Friday and Sunday, but this might have to change, now that I’m back at uni and so extremely busy. From now, you can expect posts at least every Tuesday and Sunday, with Sunday being the weekly How to Write Fantasy series. It’s a shame, because I have so many ideas for the blog, but I don’t have enough time to dedicate to three posts a week.

As you will have seen recently, I have plans for (what I hope will be) a fairly popular series on how to write fantasy and design fantasy worlds. These will be posted every Sunday! I already have some posts pre-prepared for that, they’ve been great fun to write, so I hope y’all enjoy them too.

Which leaves room on Tuesdays for reviews of short fiction and books as and when I get to them. We’ve just reviewed the recent issue of Clarkesworld, so this month I will be moving onto something different: I’m going to review the stories in Neil Gaiman’s “Trigger Warning”, his most recent collection of short stories. I’ll be doing this all through February, every Tuesday – and maybe into the months beyond, depending on how successful those reviews are.

On top of this, I suppose blog updates and personal posts/stories will come on days in between, whenever I write them – they aren’t a scheduled thing (at least, not yet…)

Busy busy!

If you like the sound of this, don’t forget to follow me so you know when I post new things 🙂 if you have any recommendations, don’t hesitate to leave me a comment.

See y’all in March!

Leave a Reply

